Running on Empty

I Act with Bold Courage – Taking inspiration from the powerful vision of my future, I boldly set sail with courage and intent. I hold my course with focused attention and relentless commitment, as I weather the storms of life.
– Jonathan Lockwood Huie

The secret of motivation is hope. I question daily whether i myself have enough left in the tank after the last several years, and i question the reserves of our country on a regular basis.

I am finding it increasingly difficult to see the glass as half full. One need only listen to talk radio, or watch the national or local news for a dose of pessimism.

It is hard to envision an economic recovery while listening to the news report how one man single-handedly sent wall street in to an economic spiral.

How the european markets now effect our financial recovery. How do we like being a player in the global economy now? Or how the debt of Greece may impact us as well. Who knew the Gyro sandwich could have our recovery in peril?

Hope is also not abundant as we listen to our politicians tear one another limb from limb jockeying for position to run our economy further in to the ground.

Politics has gotten progressively nastier and uglier over the last several years as our recession has played out. We are bombarded by scandal after scandal from our elected representatives. Tea parties, and hateful rhetoric aimed at a setting president do little to bolster either our respect, or faith that our government is working for solutions to the problems before us.

Statistics are manipulated by both parties to suit their needs, no one lends much validity to positive signs the economic stimulus either has worked, or will work as the money from the historic bailout is spent.

We no longer rush to be consumers, as the certainty of a recovery is as much a sure thing as a Lotto ticket.

And with each negative report on jobless claims and housing starts,we slip from recession in to depression. Perhaps not by statistical measurements, but by a socially conscious negativity that prevails in our country. The media and our own politicians dragging us down a little further by the day.

We watch in horror as our government stands by and let’s the single largest environmental disaster in our country’s history occur in the gulf of Mexico.

A corporation is allowed to run the clean up efforts, while having yet to stop the leak that caused the disaster!

The solutions offered, a “junk shot” consisting of old tires, golfballs, mud and concrete ? excuse me for questioning this, but if a citizen were to deposit these items on the ocean floor is this not considered illegal dumping ?

Of course the same corporation can now fund a candidate in our elections.

Our politicians toss blame like a discussion of which came first, the chicken or the egg . Republicans relaxed environmental regulations to encourage off shore drilling, while Democrats railed about the need for stricter environmental protections. They now mishandle the ball while in their court.

 Out from under a rock or a still, if you prefer comes a politician from Kentucky who wants to rewrite civil rights. Akin to Nero fiddling while Rome burned.

What the hell is wrong with our country ? this man won the primary.

 Meanwhile Arizona has superceded federal law to enact their own version of immigration law. Rouge states and a rouge nation.

So excuse me if I find the cup more than half empty today. As a matter of fact from where I sit, I find the country much like myself Running on empty. Someone feel free to pump my mood up with statistics and a ray of hope, because currently despite my faith in the people and this country, the sun shines…. but it rains within.

© JK Dark onthedarkside.wordpress.com

~ by onthedarkside on May 24, 2010.

4 Responses to “Running on Empty”

  1. Great write Kevin. I wish I could give you a ray of hope but I’m probably further down on the pessimist scale than you. You’re article doesn’t play the my side vs your side game and that in itself is the first step to to at least seeing the truth behind the facade. More articles and posts like this one would be great.

  2. Interesting write. You description of our community, country and world condition is right on. For me, hope is in my heart. Although it seems all around me is coming apart I hope, pray, try real hard not come apart. I have faith in the human spirit, believe it or not. Our outside environment and circumstances are austere at best My heart is full of hope, can’t afford to not have hope in these times.

  3. Take comfort in the fact that we’re all in this mess together. We’ll survive. Look what ashes we’ve stomped out of already.

  4. The proof is in the pudding on this one. This is no loger about left or right. It is about salvaging this great contry and standing up like the founding fathers did. They knew exactly what they were talking about when the Declaration of Independence was written. How many kids do you think can recite the Pledge of Allegance? We are so hell bent on being like Europe we have forgotten what made this country great.

    The issues in Greece go right back to the labor unions. We are heading in the same direction at record speed. I say if you want to come to America, do it legally. My family came here from Poland and were the proudest when they became American citizens.Today, you illegally come here and get health care,social security benefits and anything else you want.

    Whew…………..had to get off some steam. I have a sneaking suspicion you wrote this blog with me in mind!

    Love you Dude! I will call you soon.

Leave a Reply

 
