Yankee Doodle Dumbass

We live in strange times. The current climate of our society has Bigots and Racists not only feeling empowered by the political climate to speak hatred aloud, they run for elected office. They have no shame.
Love and respect are values found in books, or lyrics to a favorite song, currently they are devalued as we deny people who love one another the right to marry & live a life of their own choosing. The pursuit of life, liberty and happiness is more a right of some than others.
Rights and civil liberties are stripped away by people from both political parties while waving our flag and misquoting the constitution to suit their circumstance. Civil disobedience abounds, we occupy things and hold tea parties, while the politicians carve up our retirements and fight over a healthcare law. They are divided on whether to keep us alive, or allow the vultures to simply pick over our decaying middle class carcasses now. But I feel so much better as the lobbyists and PAC’S do so under the names of “Americans for Prosperity” or “Patriots for Health Reform.” Not to fret, these things will be decided by a Supreme Court of the land. Oh boy, the very same collection of “Justices”, who gave us “Citizens United”. I’m still trying to comprehend how they cleverly used the word “Citizen” as it pertains to corporations. But I digress…..
What really chaps my ass this morning is how a young kid, carrying a bag of skittles and an iced tea, can be gunned down by a neighborhood watch vigilante in Florida, and not be charged with a crime?
Was he expressing his second amendment rights or hunting quail? “Guns don’t kill people; idiots with easy access to guns kill people.” Admittedly the combination of Skittles and Iced Teas is a frightening one, but won’t we admit it was a race crime, and the killer still walks free among us?
How foolish of me, sorry. I should concentrate my thoughts on paying for the huge deficit with my welfare state Social Security that was involuntarily withheld from my earnings and labeled as Social Security Insurance. I want to do my part you know, I want to pay for two wars that were unfunded, sold on lies to begin with, then carried out without our leadership once looking to the history of Vietnam. Funny, Al-Qaida resembles the Insurgents that used to flood in to Vietnam from Cambodia. I hear the drumbeat now for Syria and Iran…. Jesus.
But what the hell do I know? I should leave these decisions in the capable hands of a government who’s energy policy relies almost solely on the remains of extinct Dinosaur’s to fuel all this prosperity. Some days, I feel like a Yankee Doodle Dumbass.

~ by onthedarkside on March 21, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
